top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Cap'n Quarters


This is my latest project, a diorama of a crashed Pirates captain's quarters crashed within cave, I know it doesn't really makes sense but the cave itself was a late inclusion .

I had the idea first, of the captains Quarters and originally intended, that was it and have it in a small floating box. Blocking it out in UE4, I used these as references as I developed the assets more. The Layout and design changed kinda quickly , when an idea of a bookcase was removed because I liked the small area, and it took up a lot of room.

The Next process, was making a more detailed white box assets to understand the layout more, Cause I was glad with the majority I used these models to create a 'Midpoly' one where I can make both the high and low poly from to keep a similar shape and Layout.

After creating the high polys and baking done, I tweaked some of the layout but due to the previous process this was relativity quick. As mentioned I made the highpoly from a 'midpoly' and sculpted in the extra detail and wear/tear in zbrush and baked using Xnormal.

This was the time when I got the Substance Package, so for texturing I wanted to rely on my own Textures rather using Painters default, so I made the textures in designer and imported them into painter.

This also the part I added the Terrain, I just had mesh with a fair amount of polys and used tessellation so that the silhouette can be more interesting, I also had the tessaltion be effective when close only to keep the FPS while working better.

Now much of the assets were textured. I moved onto adding LODs to just add to the piece.

There you have it, not too complicated and overall I'm happy with the outcome, I wanna try something more realistic next but this project has helped me understand substances program a lot better, along with helping with my own workflow and timescale.

Here is the link to the portfolio piece :

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/L0W2v

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/60yl6

http://jakebanitas.wixsite.com/blog/crashed-cap-n-quarters


bottom of page