top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The End

So it's finally over, the last project; not the end of work but at least academic work. I've enjoyed the last few years and have learnt much. Honestly, a lot has been within this project, much of which is more just tips and tricks to get the look you’re going for or how to get a better bake. Much of this was taught through periods of trial and error and that really sums up this project for me. I had the idea at the beginning of having a cabin within a snowy environment, but part from that I didn't really know.

My concepts were all snow based and so immediately it brings a contrast to me final project, I'm still happy with but I would prefer the snow look better. I did start with a landscape with snow textures and frosted pines but ended up deleting them because it wasn't where the levels were going. My concepts were really just an idea on how I wanted to cabin to feel, isolated, alone and empty. From there I began modelling, starting with the cabin via box modelling in 3DsMax, which I really struggled with, my first attempt was incredibly blocky and square but it remained a good placeholder for my cabin for the majority of the project.

I continued most the project the same way via modelling both high and low poly in 3DsMax by starting with a 'mid poly' to work from both, which I often adapted from the white box model so size and shape wouldn't need to change too much. Then I immediately textured them which was blessing and a curse because of how I did it; I textured but then didn't check in engine meaning the textures I did do this way needed tweaking later but it made the whole putting meshes into engine quicker. Starting with larger assets such as the boiler and furniture, it filled up the area quickly, then jumping to rocks and foliage so I can start putting together in the game engine.

Except the grass I made all the foliage assets via getting a leaf texture masking out the background and using Ndo to create the normals in Photoshop. The trees are just twisted and morphed cylinders with a seamless bark texture. And rocks I sculpted and low poly ‘ed’ in Zbrush. The only other asset I used in Zbrush was the deer head which I also poly- painted, a technique I've used for the first time.

After the cabin, the interior furniture and the foliage outside, I began added just scene dressings, such as the coffee table assets, the dirty dishes and the pots and pans.Also added post process and lighting tweaks because i knew that it'll save time later on. For the meshes, I used the same technique for the main furniture, this is the main thing my level lacked and that there wasn't enough clutter until then it looked too empty; it was this time I remade the cabin to have more angles and shapes sticking out, making a more interesting silhouette, and I removed the toilet area. I did this because the I thought it looked to clean and modern for the setting and I did intend to add an outhouse, however time got away from me. This was the time which I went through and tweaked previous textures and added more set dressing such as the windmill (just a hill before) and spider webs and decals to make a dirtier look; plus, make the meshes to look better, such as rust on the bed metal and wear and tear on the table.

The last week or so was made tweaking and getting just the look I wanted via post process and lighting, and boy is lighting annoying! I'm glad with my final look but to get it running smooth is tricky. Overall, I like my project, and am extremely glad with the results. What I could have worked harder on, I think is the actual design, there is no focal point. The level fits well together but nothing is the main centre and draws the eye, and I think that is because as mentioned earlier I had no main idea going ahead with this project, I just wanted a snowy cabin, however I didn't even get that. I think the main thing that may have brought down my work is not thinking ahead and preparing from a design point of view instead of planning from technical side, which is how I thought throughout the project. Again, I'm not unhappy with my work, I think I could have done better instead of looking at a more visual point of view and more design focused, but as said earlier I am very happy with my work none the less, but feel I could have done better.


bottom of page