top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Coming together

Making a scene, I have learnt how much harder than It is than I though it would be. The main reason is probably how it looks kinda crappy for a long time. This week I just spent continuing along with asset and started on the texturing. Slowly but surely its coming along however it does seem to take a while.

Most the assets are pretty fine to be honest, I don't think I need to bake much down and a lot of it I'm just relying on the tillable textures. There are a few assets I wish to bake details down but I haven't got to them yet and some I think look alright without. I have though discovered a way of breaking up the tillable textures to make a better, more varied look across my models and that is using vertex painting. And honestly, I like the outcome. I still plan to use decals across the level for more variation and uniqueness but its a good start. It did how ever create a few problems, many of which was easily fixed. The first being it doesn't work on BSPs (Binary Space Partitioning), which after some research they are really just used for the white-boxing, makes sense now. But I just made some simple assets for stuff such as the ground and for the walls just reused other assets. The whole thing is kind of shambled together but it works and nothing is technically wrong wrong with it but i would like to change some reuses assets to unique ones if i have the time.

The baking detail is worrisome to me cause i have an idea on how to go through with it but I'm not hundred percent sure it would work, because of that I plan to continue with just vertex painting and instances until all assets, decals and particle effects are made so that the baked detail adds to the finished scene instead of being a half made scene with some good models.

bottom of page